Photos

Photographer's Note

Montsoreau's village

The names Castrum de Montesorelli in 1089, the Castellum Montsorelli en 1093, Mons Sorelli and then Mons Sorel in 1107 were the ancesters of Montsoreau to day.
Its population of artisans, fishermen and small wine producers never exceeded 600 until after the French Revolution. Then a rapid expansion of the use of the local stone "tuffeau" for building brought. About a rapid increase in population toover 1000, maintained during the first quarter of the 19e century. Rhe good veins of the miraculous white stone which was very easy to works with and ti quarry from the cliffs and caves. Slowly the quarrymen left the area and the population dropped back to around 600 inhabitants.
The vacant caves wich were left after the quarrying had taken place where used to produce the culture of mushrooms know as "Champignons de Paris" the small button mushrooms. The caves where also used to produce and store the local wines which have now become very popular.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2932
Points: 48
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Philippe guillard (papagolf21) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 14839 W: 880 N: 26972] (117251)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH