Photos

Photographer's Note

he lighthouse of Grand Léjon is situated at sea in 9 miles (approximately 16,5 km) off Saint-Quay-Portrieux in the Côtes-d'Armor, in the south extremity of the plateau of Grand Léjon. He indicates the entrance of the bay( of Saint-Brieuc.
The construction of the lighthouse was made in two stages. From 1859 till 1862, a first tronconique tower is set up as masonry, to receive a fire. In 1879, works of raising are begun. On June 20th, 1881, the fire(light) is lit(switched on) at the top of the turret from now on heightened in 23,40 m with height to carry(wear) the fire(light) and shelter the guards.
In 1888, a sound signal was installed at the request of the sailors. Indeed, the light signal was ineffective by weather of mist. A mechanism with hammers activated by the swell equipped the turret.

drt100, jhm has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 586
Points: 16
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Loic Lavignasse (Ciol) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 26 W: 0 N: 26] (216)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH