Photos

Photographer's Note

It is from the thirteenth century that we find traces of the village and its harbor. The salt is very important activity for several centuries. A house of Customs posted a lookout at the entrance of the channel shows the time.

La Trinité-sur-Mer has 15 of the 70 villages surveyed in the parish of Carnac in 1475. Among these, Locqueltas (merrymaking Larmor), a chapel of the Holy Trinity was built there in 1682, succeeding a chapel of St. Gildas. Locqueltas becomes the town of Trinidad (the present town). The commune of La Trinité-sur-Mer was established in 1864, the parish in 1865.

The village grew around the maritime trade and the small community prospered. But in 1931, the government took a protectionist measure to encourage Charbonnages de France. Maritime trade stopped in Trinidad on-Sea. The town turned to fishing. The former auction house, demolished in 1923, was rebuilt, and the schooners gave way to fishing vessels.

Today, the fishing port turned into a marina with the development of nautical tourism. The oyster is also very present in la Trinité-sur-Mer.
(wikipedia)

You can see the workshop *****bream***** and *****Saint Jacques scallops***** , caught by the green boat.

ikeharel, cargus, delpeoples, Kielia, Vasa, vasilpro, mitsikas, Angshu, robjol has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 824
Points: 36
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Valerie Leconte (Leconte) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 723 W: 58 N: 1033] (5795)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH