Photos

Photographer's Note

Built in the 15th, the chapel of Locmaria is believed to have been the chapel of a monastery of monks templar. Known as Notre-Dame de Pendréo (Our Lady of the Hooping Cough), it was where people came to pray to the Virgin for the health of children suffering from that illness, which was then life-threatening, before going to the miraculous fountain a few hundred yards away on another hill.
This building presents many architectural features typical of the Breton Renaissance (porches, crockets, pinnacles, etc...).
The mausoleum of Lady Mond (work of Yves Hémar, gone back to 1939) is in the enclosure of the chapel.

(Stitch of 3 vertical photographes)

Good end of day with all

carper, maloutim, Yffic, jaywalker, siolaw, Paolo, josepmarin, pierrefonds, riclopes has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1801
Points: 74
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Jean Charles GUEGAN (JCG) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 5705 W: 751 N: 9635] (35129)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH