Photos

Photographer's Note

It was in this district of Bercy have been uncovered remains among the oldest of human occupation in the territory of Paris. Excavations in the district of Bercy led to the discovery of the remains of a village in the period chasséenne (between 4000 and 3800 BC. AD), established on the left bank of the former arm of the Seine , revealing an exceptional archaeological material: wood canoes, pottery, bows and arrows, bone tools and stone.

Then, in the twelfth century, appeared for the first time on behalf of Bercy or Bercix in acts of property. The time domain belongs to the family of Montmorency before proceeding to the hands of Malons who develop by Le Vau in the seventeenth century fortified manor into a magnificent castle.

In the nineteenth century, Viollet le Duc restructures wine warehouses. Installed from the eighteenth century outside the barrier to award the Rapée, they are booming. The barrels destined for the capital arriving by boat on the Seine and is landed and stored in the cellars of Bercy. This activity will remain buoyant until the middle of the twentieth century.

The winery has been transformed into a shopping mall in the 1990's. Emphasis was placed on the preservation of this place: renovation of the wine dating from the nineteenth century, preservation of rails, highlighted by strong architectural details such as beams, stone exceptional roofs ...
You will find the Museum of Arts Traveling and not very far, the palace of Bercy Sports Center-not to mention the Ministry of Finance.
The opening of the automatic line No. 14 Metro gave birth to a station courtyard Saint. "

WS : an other picture of bercy

JorgeCK has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 7044
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Marie TADDEI (Nolme) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 238 W: 42 N: 1019] (6829)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH