AKA the Musée National du Moyen Age (National Museum of the Middle Ages), the Cluny houses one of the world's best Medieval art collections in a fifteenth-century Gothic mansion, one of only two surviving medieval homes in Paris. It was founded by the 15th century abbot, Jacques d'Amboise, who built it over the ruins of a Roman bath, the remains of which can still be seen inside. Other notable residents included Mary Tudor, widow of Louis XII, in 1515 and Alexandre du Sommerard, who rented the house in 1833. This fortuitous circumstance led to the founding of the museum: he was an art collector with a love of all things medieval, and after his death, his collection was so significant that the French government decided to purchase both it and the structure which had housed it. The most famous exhibits include the Lady and the Unicorn tapestry scenes, found in a castle in 1841 and acquired by the museum in 1882. It also hosts an impressive stained glass collection, many pieces of which were originally created for Sainte-Chapelle.
Nobody has marked this note useful