Photos

Photographer's Note

Chapelle de l'Oberhof à Kaysersberg. La chapelle et la propriété attenante appartenaient jadis à l'abbaye de Pairis, près d'Orbey. Elle fut construite en 1391 grâce à la générosité de Wetzel Berwart, décédé en 1396. Il est enterré dans la chapelle où la pierre tombale est toujours visible. L'édifice est agrandi et consacré une seconde fois en 1473. Pendant la Révolution la chapelle est vendue et achetée par l'ancien régisseur Pierre Eckert. Elle appartient aujourd'hui à la famille Salzmann-Thomann et abrite plusieurs statues polychromes des XVIIIe et XIXe siècles, les pièces maîtresses étant une Vierge à l'Enfant du XIVe siècle et la crosse de l'abbesse d'Alsace.
Chapel of the Oberhof in Kaysersberg. The Chapel and the adjoining property once belonged to the Abbey of Pairis, near Orbey. It was built in 1391 thanks to the generosity of Wetzel Berwart, who died in 1396. He is buried in the chapel where the tombstone is still visible. The building is enlarged and dedicated a second time in 1473. During the Revolution the Chapel is sold and purchased by the former steward Pierre Eckert. It belongs today to the Salzmann-Thomann family and houses several polychrome statues from the 18th and 19th centuries, the centerpieces being a Virgin and child from the 14th century and the crosier of the Abbess of Alsace.

Sonata11, jacquest, mirosu, PaulVDV, pierrefonds, COSTANTINO has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 517
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Alain Corriveau (Alco) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 203 W: 3 N: 550] (6586)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH