Photos

Photographer's Note

Built over the tomb of St Martin, Bishop of Tours, the basilica depicted here is much smaller that its predecessor which was destroyed at the end of the 18th century. It was built between 1896 and 1924 to the designs of local architect Victor Laloux. The style is a mix of Romanesque and Byzantine.

The basilica also houses a museum depicting the main events in the life of St Martin and offers a history of the site and the various buildings erected here since the first tomb was laid.

Due to space constraints, the picture is a stitch of six images.

Photo Information
Viewed: 3255
Points: 48
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 5902 W: 61 N: 16984] (76358)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH