Photos

Photographer's Note

Da Wikipedia, l'enciclopedia libera.

In origine la penisola su cui sorge il centro cittadino era un'isola, separata dalla terraferma da un canale e cinta da una spessa muraglia e da torrioni: a ponente vi era la porta di san Damiano con il relativo torrione (ora la Torre dell'Orologio), a levante la porta di Valdibora con il suo torrione (divenuta nel XVIII secolo casa di proprietà della famiglia Bognolo) e nel mezzo il famoso Portone del Ponte, munito di ponte levatoio, sul quale campeggiava una lapide con la scritta Lo Reposso dei Deserti. Tale porta fu demolita ed il canale interrato nel 1763, per espandere l'antico abitato.

ENGLISH

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

Originally the peninsula on which stands the city center was an island, separated from the mainland by a canal and surrounded by a thick wall and towers: there was the door to the west of San Damiano with its tower (now the Torre dell 'clock), to the east the port Valdibora with its tower (now in the eighteenth century house owned by the family Bognolo) and in the middle of the famous gate bridge, equipped with a drawbridge, on which stood a plaque with the inscription the Reposso of deserts. This door was demolished and buried canal in 1763, to expand the ancient settlement.

Photo Information
Viewed: 876
Points: 40
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Marino Rubinich (kennyblack) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 361 W: 16 N: 946] (4207)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH