Photos

Photographer's Note

Photograph scanned from a slide.

At the site of the present Belfry of Bruges (Dutch: Brugge Belfort van) was originally a first building surmounted by a wooden tower erected in 1240. The building housed the halls to wool and linen and warehouses. The tower had a more administrative function and was used at the time the magistrates of the city. It included a room safes as well as the archives of the city.

A fire destroyed the tower in 1280, which led to the destruction of records before 1280. A town hall was built in another location (the 'Burg') where most of the administrative functions moved. The tower was rebuilt in 1296 with two square bases and the arrow on the wooden tower.

The halls of the city were extended during the fifteenth
century and from 1483 to 1487 was built the upper part octagonal white stone flanked by four turrets, always topped with a wooden spire on which included a statue of Saint Michel.


A fire caused by lightning destroyed again the upper and the bells of the city in 1493. When repairing is built a wooden spire adorned with climbing lions.

A gallery was added to the back of the hall during the sixteenth
century. The courtyard also received some galleries on the first floor.

In 1741 a fire destroyed again the spire of the tower. It was repaired in 1753. The tower received its present form in 1822 Gothic crown instead of an arrow.

The Belfry of Bruges, a height of 83 m, is slightly tilted to the left (1, 19 m) for more than four centuries. It is visited. To reach the top you have to climb 366 steps. The carillon has 47 bells.

http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beffroi_de_Bruges

ikeharel, jhm, ChrisJ has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 529
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Jean Philippe TUR (tenretin) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 169 W: 7 N: 322] (2359)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH