Photos

Photographer's Note

The church of Middelburg is the only real remains of the old town of Middelburg. This small town was built between 1452 and 1465 by Pieter Bladeling, governor of finance of Philips the Good and flourished during the first decades of its existence. It has been attacked and destroyed several times (1581, 1702 and 1944). Only the church, although damaged several times, was rebuilt and reminds us of the past of the town.
More info on http://www.damme-online.com/gb/arounddamme/middelburg.htm

gildasjan, jhm, danos, wojtpod, Nolme, guytoc, UlfE, jlbrthnn, Angshu has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1105
Points: 22
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by hendrik de leyn (hdl) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1401 W: 14 N: 1567] (6995)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH