Photos

Photographer's Note

Construction on Wat Phra Singh began in 1345 when King Phayu, the fifth king of the Mangrai dynasty, had a chedi built to house the ashes of his father King Kham Fu. A wihan and several other buildings were added a few years later and the resulting complex was named Wat Lichiang Phra. When, in 1367, the statue of Phra Buddha Singh was brought to the temple, the temple complex received its present name. During restoration works in 1925, three funerary urns were discovered inside a small chedi. It was assumed that these contained royal ashes. The urns have since been lost. From 1578 to 1774 the Burmese ruled Lanna and in this period the temple was abandoned and came under serious disrepair. It was only when King Kawila assumed the throne as King of Chiang Mai in 1782, that the temple was restored. (Source: Wikipedia)

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Ryno Sauerman (ryno) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 773 W: 0 N: 280] (6833)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2013-04-01
  • Categories: Architecture, Ruins
  • Exposure: f/7.1, 1/200 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2013-04-12 0:57
Viewed: 872
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ryno Sauerman (ryno) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 773 W: 0 N: 280] (6833)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH