Photos

Photographer's Note

The Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery was founded in 1397. The first buildings were simple wooden structures. The Cathedral, constructed in 1497, was the first important stone building. At the time it was the largest monastery cathedral in Russia. In the 16th and 17th centuries the Cathedral was flanked by four other churches and a bell tower.

another view of the monastery can be seen here.

When the Soviets closed the monastery in 1924 The entire complex was designated the Kirillov-Belozersky Museum of History, Art, and Architecture. This cathedral thus was spared the destruction which overtook many other religious structures in Russia. The Monastery has undergone considerable restoration and is well preserved today. Cruise ships travelling between Moscow and St Petersburg usually stop here.

Photo Information
Viewed: 3283
Points: 70
Discussions
Additional Photos by Paul Bulteel (pauloog) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1416 W: 79 N: 1894] (11747)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH