Standing on the picturesque banks of the Kamenka River in the northern part of Suzdal is an ancient monastery. Euthymios Savior monastery was erected there in 1352 and was both the monastery and the convent as well as the outpost reinforcing the city outskirts. For the latter purpose the Euthymios Savior monastery was surrounded with a thick wall with towers. The current wall with 12 towers belongs to the 17th century. In the same century the monastery was completely rebuilt in stone. The first abbot of the monastery was Reverend Euthymios of Suzdal after whom the monastery was later named. A small temple over the tomb of Euthymios (1564) eventually grew up and became the current Transfiguration cathedral. This five-domed temple with emerald-green heads is the main building of the monastery. Its architectural shape was created for over three centuries. Large light drums have narrow windows. The smaller ones crown the two smaller side-chapels of the temple. From the east, adjacent to the cathedral are deep altar exedras with smooth frameless windows niches. The interior of the Transfiguration cathedral is very rich. In the 17th century the cathedral was decorated with exterior and interior painting. Along the perimeter the cathedral is surrounded with the belt of arches and columns.
Nobody has marked this note useful