Photos

Photographer's Note

Guan Yin Si / Guan Yin Temple 吉隆坡观音寺 / 吉隆坡威震宫观音寺

Someone believe that the predecessor of Kuala Lumpur Guan Yin Temple is a Tua Pek Kong Temple located beside the Chinese Cemetery on Jing Wu Hill that built at 112 years ago. The temple is original serve as a Taoist Temple that worship the God of Fujian community named The Three Brothers of Zhang Gong Sheng Jun (张公圣君三义兄弟). Guan Yin Statue and some other Bhuddist Gods are added into the temple after the expansion works on 1938.

The temple have rebuilt after the fire, the first fire is happened in the year 1963 and follow by the second fire on 1989. According to the dictation of local people and believers, all goods in the temple are fully burned in the fire, but all the God Statues are still remain intact on the rack, they believe it is a miracle.

Today the temple is still keeping some tackles that survive after the fire, such like a copper censer that dated back to 1898, an old signboard that carved with the name of the temple and an old Chinese worshipping cabinet.

The Kuala Lumpur Guan Yin Temple is locate at the end of Petaling Street China Town or it is just opposite to Chen Shi Shu Yuan. The temple is open to public daily till 5pm.

Source : The above note and information are origin and translated from the website of Malaysian Buddhist Association

See Another Photo in Workshop.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2826
Points: 54
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ally Theanlyn (shevchenko) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2387 W: 63 N: 4429] (19051)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH