Photos

Photographer's Note

After ascending the throne of Cambodia in 1181 A.D., Jayavarman VII embarked on a massive program of construction and public works. Rajavihara ("royal temple"), today known as Ta Prohm ("ancestor Brahma"), was one of the first temples founded pursuant to that program. The stele commemorating the foundation gives a date of 1186 A.D.

Jayavarman VII constructed Rajavihara in honor of his family. The temple's main image, representing Prajnaparamita, the personification of wisdom, was modelled on the king's mother. The northern and southern satellite temples in the third enclosure were dedicated to the king's guru and his elder brother respectively. As such, Ta Prohm formed a complementary pair with the temple monastery of Preah Khan, dedicated in 1191 A.D., the main image of which represented the Bodhisattva of compassion Lokesvara and was modelled on the king's father.

The temple's stele records that the site was home to more than 12,500 people (including 18 high priests and 615 dancers), with an additional 80,000 souls in the surrounding villages working to provide services and supplies. The stele also notes that the temple amassed considerable riches, including gold, pearls and silks.[3] Expansions and additions to Ta Prohm continued as late as the rule of Srindravarman at the end of the 13th century.


Abandonment and restoration:
After the fall of the Khmer empire in the 15th century, the temple of Ta Prohm was abandoned and neglected for centuries. When the effort to conserve and restore the temples of Angkor began in the early 20th century, the École française d'Extrême-Orient decided that Ta Prohm would be left largely as it had been found, as a "concession to the general taste for the picturesque." According to pioneering Angkor scholar Maurice Glaize, Ta Prohm was singled out because it was "one of the most imposing [temples] and the one which had best merged with the jungle, but not yet to the point of becoming a part of it". Nevertheless, much work has been done to stabilize the ruins, to permit access, and to maintain "this condition of apparent neglect.

disturbia73 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Karen Schembri Grima (Karyn674) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 10 W: 4 N: 16] (55)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2005-12-18
  • Categories: Ruins
  • Exposure: f/2.8, 1/750 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2009-04-26 1:05
Viewed: 1567
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Karen Schembri Grima (Karyn674) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 10 W: 4 N: 16] (55)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH