Photos

Photographer's Note

Lüderitz is renowned for its old-world charm and distinctly German colonial architecture which is set around a bay.
It was founded in 1883 and began life as a trading post, fishing and guano-harvesting town, but when diamonds were discovered in 1909 in nearby Kolmanskop, Lüderitz suddenly became very prosperous, and many beautiful houses were built.

Along this particular street you will find:

Kreplin Haus was built in 1909 for Emil Kreplin, then the manager of a railway company. He was elected the first mayor of Lüderitz in the same year and remained in office until 1920.

The yellow building – also known as Haus Eberlanz was the shop and workshop of Mr. Friedrich Eberlanz. He manufactured sails for boats and ox-wagons.

The orange building, built in 1910, was the first photo studio and gift shop in town.

One with the brown pillars housed a bakery in 1909. When the baker, Mr. Bauer moved away, the premises were occupied by lawyers and solicitors.

There is also a red building ( Barrels pub today ) with white adornments, served as a depot for greengrocers vegetable distribution.

Photo Information
Viewed: 3004
Points: 80
Discussions
Additional Photos by Wanda van den Hogen (Wanda1) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1341 W: 52 N: 2517] (14980)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH