Forums

Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums > TrekEarth Forum Home > Announcements

Notices

Old 07-26-2013, 04:52 PM
TE official

Smile Trek Earth and Wikitravel Cooperation

Hello,

My name is Aleksandra and I’m a community admin on TrekEarth. We're excited to announce a collaboration between TrekEarth and the free travel guide http://wikitravel.org.

This will be beneficial for members of both sites. TrekEarth photographers have the opportunity to showcase their art to a wider audience (over 350,000 visitors per day come to Wikitravel), while Wikitravel's visitors get the benefit of more beautiful photographs in the free guide.

Wikitravel's Main Page (http://wikitravel.org/en/Main_Page) is the most visited page in the travel guide, and with thousands of views per day, gives great exposure to photos featured there. Wikitravel already works with professional photographers who consider Wikitravel a great travel website to promote their pictures among the millions of users that Wikitravel has each month. One of those users is our own TrekEarth lead moderator Porteplume (http://wikitravel.org/en/User:Porteplume), who has uploaded many beautiful photos to Wikitravel.

All images on Wikitravel are subject to a Creative Commons Share Alike license and can be redistributed on websites that have the same license (for example, Wikipedia), provided they attribute the photo's author. Attribution takes the form of clearly specifying who the image creator is, and of linking back to the original picture source (in this case, your TrekEarth gallery). Even after uploading a picture to Wikitravel, you are the author of that image and you own the copyright. This only affects photos you upload to Wikitravel.

Joining Wikitravel doesn't mean that you will have to share your pictures there. It is absolutely voluntary. It's your decision if you would like to share your art with Wikitravelers.