Forums


Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums > TrekEarth Forum Home > Photos

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Great feather 2008-12-15 8:32

I don't know what is wrong with TE now but when clicking your link all I got was a blank screen and then an apology from Dell! Anyway I like this one and the way the moored boats are arranged diagonally. The colours are lovely; it looks like a very pleasant place to stay.
Kath

  #1  
Old 12-15-2008, 05:38 PM
Emile Emile is offline
TE Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 485
Default To feather: "what is wrong with TE"

Kath.
I don't know why when we click the link this is happening, really very disappointed matter.
Thank you for visiting my photo.
Emile.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2008, 05:56 PM
bibiweb's Avatar
bibiweb bibiweb is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,756
Default Re: A feather: "what is wrong with TE"

What is wrong is that you have incorrectly coded the link information (the http:// is repeated twice).
If you correct it, the link should work.
Hope this helps.
Bibi
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2008, 10:08 PM
stego stego is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,458
Default Re: Para feather: "what is wrong with TE"

Hola Emile

Brigitte already explained what is wrong. You can also simplify by omitting the "http//www.trekearth.com" (but don't forget to start the coded address with "/". Besides writing less, you don't force who clicks the link to change the language he/she is using, that is, for instance, if he/she is using es.trekearth.com, he/she will remain in es.trekearth.com

Example:

<a href='http://http//www.trekearth.com/viewphotos.php?l=5&p=968971'>wrong</a>

<a href='http://www.trekearth.com/viewphotos.php?l=5&p=968971'>right</a>

<a href='/viewphotos.php?l=5&p=968971'>shorter alternative</a>

will render like this:

<a href='http://http//www.trekearth.com/viewphotos.php?l=5&p=968971'>wrong</a>

<a href='http://www.trekearth.com/viewphotos.php?l=5&p=968971'>right</a>

<a href='/viewphotos.php?l=5&p=968971'>shorter alternative</a>

The omission of the first part of the address is valid for other addresses and when using addresses with "/gallery" we can omit everything until /photo...:

&lt;a href='http://es.trekearth.com/gallery/Europe/Spain/Asturias/Asturias/Cudillero/photo968971.htm'&gt;long&lt;/a&gt;

&lt;a href='/gallery/photo968971.htm'&gt;short&lt;/a&gt;

will render like this:

<a href='http://es.trekearth.com/gallery/Europe/Spain/Asturias/Asturias/Cudillero/photo968971.htm'>long</a>

<a href='/gallery/photo968971.htm'>short</a>

but this is invalid because there isn't a "/" before "gallery":

&lt;a href='gallery/photo968971.htm'&gt;invalid&lt;/a&gt;
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2008, 10:23 PM
Emile Emile is offline
TE Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 485
Default Re: A feather: "what is wrong with TE"

Hola Brigitte, thank you so much for telling me what is happening with the link, I hope you won't mind if I ask you two questions. : how did you find out that there was an incorrectly code in the link information and the other question is: "if you correct it, the link should work", how can I correct the error after posting my shot in TE??
Thank you in advance for your very important answers.
Emile.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2008, 10:35 PM
Emile Emile is offline
TE Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 485
Default Re: A feather: "what is wrong with TE"

Sorry Brigitte, I didn't see the rest of your note and wrote you asking the question that you already answered me.
I don't want to bother you but do you mind answering my second question. Thank you again for you help, I don't usually do this but you have been so kind to me and I will really appreciate it.
Emile.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2008, 05:25 AM
bibiweb's Avatar
bibiweb bibiweb is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,756
Default Re: A feather: "what is wrong with TE"

How did I see there was an error:
If you place your cursor over the link, the corresponding code appears at the bottom left of your screen.

How can you change it:
When you display your photo, there's an "Edit" link in the left-hand menu. Just click on it and you can change any of the information pertaining to your photo.

No bother at all... if you have other questions, don't hesitate to ask. I was happy to help! :o)
Brigitte
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2008, 09:11 AM
riclopes riclopes is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,434
Default Re: Para feather: "what is wrong with TE"

you always amaze me with your explanations, José.
I've been using them a lot to explain things to friends that ask me for help...so, I thank you for such good and useful information.

To Emile:
By the way, the link still doesn't work.

ric
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2008, 10:46 AM
feather's Avatar
feather feather is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Yorkshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,381
Default Re: Para feather: "what is wrong with TE"

To Jose
I notice you use ' in your links. I use ". Is that why your links open on a new tab and mine don't. It can be handy to have them on a new tab and I didn't know how to do it.
Kath
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2008, 12:06 PM
riclopes riclopes is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,434
Default Re: Para feather: "what is wrong with TE"

Olá Kath, as I said José teached me everything :) See <a href="http://www.trekearth.com/read.php?f=2&t=627487&m=866735"target=_blank>here</a> if it helps you. Although it's in portuguese I think you can understand it.

ric
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2008, 12:16 PM
stego stego is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,458
Default To Kath: links opening in a new tab

Hi Kath,

The quotes have nothing to do with the links opening in a new tab or window (it depends on the browser used and its configuration). To do that, you should use another option: target=_blank, that is:
&lt;a href='/viewphotos.php?l=3&p=341629' target=_blank&gt;&lt;/a&gt;

Actually, you can use any other word instead of _blank. The 'target' designates the 'symbolic' name of the window (or tab) where the address should be displayed and if that window doesn't exist, it is created. However, the name "_blank" always open a new window.

You can use single or double quotes to delimit de address or even omit them if the address has any spaces, as it happens nearly every time.

Regards, José.
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.


explore TREKEARTH