Forums

Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums > TrekEarth Forum Home > Travel

Notices

Old 01-16-2006, 07:36 AM
TE Senior Member

Default Attention India Experts

I know there are lots here who are well aquainted with India. I beg some advice. I had been planning on a month in India starting in March, but that has now been shifted up by almost a month. This has left me pretty unprepared, I haven't even bought the Lonely Planet yet. I have a friend in Mumbai, so that is to be my first stop. Other than that, I really have no idea. I will shoot out this afternoon to pick up the Lonely Planet, but if anyone else has a suggestion of possible itineraries, or must see spots, please let me know.

Also, if anyone will be there when I am visiting, or lives in India, of course, I would love to hear from you and hopefully even meet up. I am not good at planning travel at the best of time and with the short notice now, I am really behind. Any and all advice would be gratefully appreciated.

India is new for me, so I am really looking forward to this trip.
Old 01-19-2006, 07:34 PM
TE Expert

Default Re: Attention India Experts

I had travelled in India twice, it is great, fantastic! I travel with a car and a driver, I contacted Indian agencies by internet to find it. I strated my first trip from Chennai (Madras) and then I went South. The second tour I started from Delhi and thean I visited Rajastan. During my first tour I bought a not expensive ticket to fly inside India, you'll see what I mean in Lonely Planet guide. Ciao Livia
Old 01-27-2006, 11:24 AM
TE Newbie

India has a wide variety of options for a traveller. If I read your current plans right, you intend coming to India in April. Be warned that April is pretty warm (by Indian standards, by western standards, it would be termed as bloody HOT!). My suggestion would be
1. Mumbai-Goa. Spend a week there. Goa has some nice beaches.