PDA

View Full Version : Need Eastern Europe Advice

mimi
02-15-2004, 04:02 AM
I'm just getting started planning a trip to Eastern Europe this summer and would love to hear any insights or advice any of you have.

Currently, I have reservations to fly in and out of Prague, arriving June 2 and returning July 14. I have two possible routes in mind but this is very, very sketchy at this point. Route 1: Prague, Bratislava, Budapest, through Romania to the coast, ferry from Constanta to Istanbul, Turkish coast, ferry to Odessa, and fly back to Prague from Ukraine. I have a friend in the Ukraine, and if he can get vacation the same time that I'll be there, then this will be my route. If not, Route 2: Prague, Bratislava, Budapest, Zagreb, Croatian coast, ???

I've never travelled in E. Europe before, so any advice on must-see (especially off the tourist track) or don't-bother places would be greatly appreciate.

Thanks in advance,
Mimi

piozac
02-15-2004, 08:13 PM
Croatian coast is definetly worth seeing...
It's very hard to choose, in every country you've listed are beautiful places, if you decide I can give you some advise.
I live in Poland, so I know Eastern Europe a bit.

mimi
02-15-2004, 08:22 PM
Hi Piotr - When my plans start to firm up, I'll definitely post some more specific questions. Thanks for your help.

Mimi

piozac
02-15-2004, 08:29 PM
I'm waiting for questions then... Bye

joso
03-01-2004, 04:36 PM
Nice trip you're planing, no matter which way you go.
If you will drive, you will need more time as for the same distance in the USA or western Europe, especially in Romania and along the croatian coast. In Croatia you have to accomodate first with the driving style, never else saw so many "selfmurders"... Drived two times the coast, the landscape is beautiful, but a bit crowdy and touristic.
About Romania - partially you will dive in the past, going back 100 or more years, especially in the outstanding places, like mountain villages, etc.