PDA

View Full Version : When you photograph people...

jekir79
07-05-2005, 07:14 PM
Note: I am a complete beginner...

I am interested in people but I have had this question on my mind for a little while now... When you photograph people on the street, do you try to be discrete and avoid the people you are shooting seeing you or you just stand in front of them, take the picture and leave. I am asking this because I saw a "moment" and photographed these ladies at a market in Korea, I tried to be as discrete as possible and one spotted me. She then yelled something, I am not sure what she was saying but it didn't sound like an invitation to shoot more. What would you do if you were me. Thank you.

gringofil
07-05-2005, 07:35 PM
Trying to be "discreet" about taking pictures of people puts you right into the stalker zone, mate. I'm not discreet about it...people know that I'm taking their picture (most of the time I work with the 50mm and nowadays switched to the 10-22mm and this means I have to get really close). In my portfolio you can see the Keitai Guy picture...when I took it I was right next to the guy (shot at 10mm which makes it 16mm in full frame 35mm). So, yeah, pick a short focal length lens like the 50mm or even a wide angle and get right there into the action of things...you'll still get yelled at (sometimes), but at least your subjects will respect your courage (plus your shots will show these people as they are doing their everyday things). Of course there are some guys out there who use 300mm lenses for "candid" or "street" photography. To me that's just bullshit...this is more a paparazzi style than people photography. Of course, if I point a camera at someone and see that he/she does not want to be photographed...well...I respect their wishes and walk away.

And what I would do about the old lady? Smile...this is the world's greatest icebreaker.

oochappan
07-05-2005, 08:14 PM